mbdaaucsteminitiative.com

Screen Shot 2019-03-20 at 8.29.37 PM.png
sparkhouse-01.png
clark-atlanta.png
MorehouseLogo.svg.png

Clark Atlanta University serves as the Lead Educational Agency and fiscal Agent for a Grant Awarded by the Department of Commerce Minority Business Development Agency.  The purpose of the Grant is to implement a pilot project, STEM Entrepreneurship Initiative that will foster innovation and more collaboration in STEM technology base programs and opportunities at three Atlanta University Center Consortium (AUCC) campuses (Clark Atlanta University, Morehouse College and Spelman College).  The goal of the program is to work strategically with the Atlanta University Center Consortium, Inc (a nonprofit serving all AUCC campuses through strategic planning, program development and implementation) office to build a more robust STEM Entrepreneurship curriculum with tools and opportunities that increase student interest, and access greater participation in an innovation economy, specifically in the field where blacks are under-represented including financial services, technology companies, and financial technology (fintech).

MEET THE TEAM

 

Bruce Berger

 PI-Project Director

Bruce D. Berger, JD, MBA, presently serves as the Director of the Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurial Development (CIED) and the interdisciplinary INNOLAB MAKERSPACE at Clark Atlanta University (CAU). Prior to joining CAU in late 2015 he served as the Associate Dean of Student Services and Administration at the Jesse H. Jones School of Business at Texas Southern University where he also taught the Global Strategic Management Capstone course in the MBA and Executive MBA programs. Before taking the position at Texas Southern, Bruce taught Business Law and experiential learning courses in both the undergraduate and MBA curricula at Western Carolina University’s School of Business where his students worked directly with the AB Tech Small Business Incubator and Blue Ridge Food Ventures in Asheville, NC. He currently serves as an Assistant Professor of Management at CAU teaching the Entrepreneurship curriculum and teaches Criminal Law in the Criminal Justice program.

 

 His instructional approach centers upon experiential learning through a practicum consulting pedagogy with student teams immersed in client companies for an entire semester while his lean startup course in Entrepreneurship turns ideation into a judged business pitch in 90 days.  

 

He served on the Board of Directors of the Houston Area Urban League’s Community Development Corporation (HAUDC) and was intimately involved in economic development, entrepreneurial ventures and university-community partnerships in Houston’s Greater Third Ward through a Texas Southern University-University of Houston-Wheeler Avenue Baptist Church community consortium. He is an angel investor and mentors several start-ups. In Atlanta, he serves on the Startup Atlanta and the Technology Association of Georgia (TAG) Diversity & Inclusion Boards and is the principal investigator for the $950,000 Department of Commerce/Economic Development Agency CREATE grant which develops Southwest Atlanta technology-based startups in food, urban agriculture and food distribution in partnership with United Negro College Fund, Russell Center for Innovation & Entrepreneurship and Truly Living Well, as well as the $500,000 Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA) grant to promote student and faculty opportunities in the $75 Billion Atlanta STEM-FINTECH industry at three Atlanta University Center schools—CAU, Morehouse and Spelman. 

 

Prior to his academic career, he was a prosecutor and civil trial lawyer in Florida for over 25 years. He has started and owns several businesses including Outback Steakhouse franchises, a biomedical tech company, a business performance consultancy, and two real estate investment firms. He graduated from the Wharton School of Finance and Commerce at the University of Pennsylvania with a BS in Economics and later earned MBA and JD degrees at the University of Miami and The University of New Hampshire Franklin Pierce Law Center, respectively. He is currently a member in good standing of The Florida Bar.

Jacqueline Williams

Program Manager

Jacqueline Williams is a experienced professional with solid management, leadership, and event planning skills. Jacqueline currently serves as the Program Manager for the UNCF Career Pathways Initiative and is proficient in online grants management applications to include Grants.gov, NSF Fastlane, Research.gov, eRACommons and Banner Web.  Ms. Williams is experienced in conference and event coordination for universities, local, state and federal agencies and recently organized and coordinated the Regional HBCU Summit on Adaptive Learning a major initiative for the Vice President for Academic Affairs and University Provost and served as coordinator and liaise for the NASA Road Tour.  Over the years, Jacqueline has managed and continues to coordinates a variety of student-oriented summer programs for high school students and teachers in STEM.  She has been employed with Clark Atlanta University for more than 25 years.

As an educator, grant writer, and program administrator I have spent 35 years developing solid relationships with stakeholders; implementing innovative programs that impact high student achievement; and building effective collaborations with diverse communities nationwide.

 

Currently, I serve as the Program Manager of Civic Engagement and Community Initiatives providing unique community-based programming for four Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) in west Atlanta. These initiatives have empowered hundreds of parents, educators, leaders and businesses owners to learn effective ways of demonstrating professional growth, and  how to apply evidence –based approaches to family and community progress. 

Anthony Otey

Program Manager

A Seasoned Financial Professional, Jennifer has spent the past 20 years working for some of the largest financial institutions in the Country.  A native of Mobile, Alabama and a resident of Alpharetta, GA, Jennifer received her Accounting Degree from Tuskegee University.  After spending most of career as a Commercial Lender, she is currently working with the Atlanta University Center as their Fintech Program Consultant.  As the Program Consultant, Jennifer is responsible for coordinating speakers, obtaining sponsorship, researching professional development opportunities and job recruitment.  In her spare time Jennifer likes reading, biking, traveling and spending time with her husband and three kids.

Jennifer Andrews

CAU-AUC Fintech Consultant

AUC MBDA STEM Entrepreneurship

Initiative Team Members

 

Clark Atlanta University

Bruce Berger – Principal Investigator bberger@cau.edu

Anthony Otey – Program Manager aotey58@gmail.com

Paul Brown pbrown1@cau.edu

Lakesha Landers llanders@cau.edu

Ali Sazegar asazegar@cau.edu

Silvanus Udoka – Dean, School of Business sudoka@cau.edu

Jackie Williams jhwilliams@cau.edu

John Young jyoung1@cau.edu

Morehouse College

Tiffany Bussey tiffany.bussey@morehouse.edu

Irving Corrales irving.corrales@morehouse.edu

Amos Johnson amos.johnson@morehouse.edu

Bonita Seaborn-Moore bonita.seaborn-moore@morehouse.edu

Patrick Washington patrick.washington@morehouse.edu

Miesha Williams miesha.williams@morehouse.edu

 

Spelman College

Robert Hamilton rhamilton@spelman.edu

Eric Thompson pericthompson@gmail.com

Romie Tribble rtribble@spelman.edu

Tiffany Watson twatso16@spelman.edu

 

External Fintech Liaison

Jennifer Andrews jenandrews88@comcast.net

 

Contact Us

Website powered by NobleSol Art Group